Department of Homeland

Department of Homeland Security U.S. Department of Homeland Security United States (English: United States Department of Homeland Security), commonly abbreviated as DHS and called Homeland Security (Homeland Security) is a ministry of the Government of the States States with the responsibility to protect the U.S. homeland from terrorist attacks and respond to natural disasters. The department was created from 22 existing federal agencies in response to the attacks of 11 September 2001. While the Defense Department handles military actions, the Department of Homeland Security works in the civilian sphere to protect the United States and outside its borders. Its aim is to prepare, prevent and respond to national emergencies, particularly terrorism. With approximately 184,000 employees, the National Security Ministry is the third largest U.S. federal government behind the Department of Defense and the Department of Veterans Affairs.Department policy is coordinated at the White House National Security Council, with Frances Townsend as National Security Advisor. Other ministries with responsibilities in national security are the Department of Health and Human Services, the Department of Justice and the Department of Energy.

Comments are closed.